Friday, September 18, 2009

Earlham School Board News September 2009

During their meeting on September 16, 2009, the Earlham Community School Board met for their organization meeting at 6:00 PM in the high school library. The retiring School Board approved minutes from previous meetings, financial statements and invoices. Board Manager Jodi Stroud shared the results from the School election from September 8th. Teresa Waldron and Kathy Woolcott were elected to 4 year terms. The retiring School Board, including Craig Hamilton and Neal Hanley, adjourned with appreciation for their service to the district.

Following the election of Mike Madren as Board President and David Morford as Board Vice President, the Board was presented information from Nate Sletten, Band Director, relative to potential purchases of new instruments that would be owned by the district. Mr. Sletten provided the School Board with an inventory and current working condition of each of the district owned instruments. The Board asked Mr. Sletten to continue his research into several vendors and different lease/purchase proposals and share that information at a future meeting.

In other business, the Board approved:

  • The FFA to attend the National FFA Convention in Indianapolis in late October.

  • An agreement with the Earlham Education Association on the distribution of Teacher Quality fund to staff for the 2009-10 school year.

  • A schedule for regular and special meetings for the 2009-10 school year. Those dates are posted on the district website.

  • Teresa Waldron as the district representative for the IASB Delegate Assembly on November 18.

The next regular Earlham Community School Board meeting will be held on Wednesday, October 28th at 6:00 p.m. at the school library. The School Board is also planning a special meeting/work session for October 7th at 6:00 PM in the school library.

No comments: